Hello from Outside Boston

A place for new members to introduce themselves and be welcomed into our community.

Moderators: Mark B, Stephen S, arnenym, T-Bone Bruce, Nathan

Hello from Outside Boston

Postby jhallc » Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:42 am

I'm Jhallc and I'm not sure how I found my way here ( a lot of links and google searching) but, I'm glad I did.

I've been playing harp since high school (30 years ago) and I've been at it to varying degrees since then. Ten years in a band (gave it up), twenty years of wife and family (still have 'em) and now I'd like to get back to playing with folks.

Sold most of my amps (don't ask) when I built my house but, kept my 70's SiIverface Fender Champ and Mic's (Shure 520D, JT-30, and Turner Crystal 33x). The Champ's a lot of fun to play but, it doesn't have the range I prefer.

I liked what I heard about the Epiphone Valve Jr. half stack (12" Eminence) from folks on this board and picked one up. I just got a Tone+ to go along with a MXR Carbon Copy Delay which I had already. So that's were I'm at. Looking forward to learning more from the folks here at the forum.

Jhallc
jhallc

Re: Hello from Outside Boston

Postby arnenym » Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:03 pm

Welcome on board Jhallc. :D
English is not my own language. Express myself in a weird way i do. Sometimes. 8)
http://www.youtube.com/user/SouthRBB
arnenym

Postby Stephen S » Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:16 pm

Howdy, Jhallc. It may be redundant, and a digression on this board, but I tried a bunch of preamp tubes in the half-stack in the "Kirby@Robinhood" video, several 12AX7s, vintage 5751, AT, AY, AV, and 12DW7, and still felt the superior tube there was the current Sovtek 5751, which was odd because normally I don't like that tube for harp--it's not the same as a vintage 5751 at all. Has the virtue of being cheaper than NOS. Brand of main tube, I think I only tried a used RCA and it was not better at the stock bias, anyway; stock main tube seemed fine.